jump to navigation

I’m late to the party! February 12, 2006

Posted by susoolu in In Progress.
3 comments

I’ve had a lost weekend, and so have only completed 20 of a potential 400 rows (yes, outstanding progress here).  I also discovered that despite 2 days of charting, hours of maths, and double and triple checking, that I was still determined to fit a 28 stitch pattern into a section of only 25 stitches.  So the 20 rows have become 19 again.

Still, it is all very exciting, the ‘fat lady’ hasn’t even begun her singing warm-up exercises, and the rest of Team GB seems to be putting on a sterling display of confident, accomplished, talented and productive knitting.

(I would post a picture of progress to date, but I think it might make me cry, or turn to drink.)

Back to the knitting.  Go Team GB!

susoolu

20 cms – yeehaw! February 12, 2006

Posted by spinningsue in In Progress.
3 comments
progress

I’ve been feeling a bit off today so no knitting was attempted until well into the afternoon. I’ve managed to knit as far as I thought I should by the end of the weekend. Its not scientific – there have been no calculations! Just eyeballed the picture and guessed!

I’ve finished the patterned part of the body and now its stocking stitch all the way. Work will cut into my progress quite a bit but hopefully I’ll manage a decent amount of progress during the evenings.

I like this pattern. Its easy to remember and looks nice. I think it would be a good pattern for socks, hmmmmm…

Sue

A beginning February 12, 2006

Posted by mlqknits in In Progress.
2 comments

Sirdar 'She'

One of the 10 balls of yarn for my Olympic entry – it will be a mohair coat/long cardigan to my design (working on the principle of ‘work out the design as you go along’), so far I’ve knitted up one ball and have reached about 8 inches in length times 52 inches width in feather and fan pattern. I’m knitting it in one piece up to the armholes, and I plan to steek the armholes, because of the long shading in the yarn (from bright red through to dark purply red), and that will be (sort of!) a new technique for me to do proper steeking …

The yarn itself is Sirdar ‘She’ – a very 80’s yarn indeed, bought for about £6 on eBay some months back – it’s 55% Acrylic/45% Mohair, and I’m estimating a yardage of approx 150 yards to the 50g ball (based on what I’ve knitted so far, and since it isn’t given on the ball band – this should also give you some idea of how old the yarn is!).

Day 1 Progress February 12, 2006

Posted by pixeldiva in In Progress.
5 comments

The beginnings of a top down raglan v-neck jumper.

It seems to be designing itself as it goes. It may involve short-row shaping to allow it to fit over the upper part of my chest without having excess bulk around my waist.

Having never knitted a jumper before, I have no real idea what I’m doing, but that’s never really stopped me before.

Behold, the photographs:

Progress after 24 hours

Left shoulder detail with handmade stitch markers

Right shoulder detail with handmade stitch marker