jump to navigation

Scary! February 24, 2006

Posted by mlqknits in In Progress.
7 comments

Made it to the shoulders, so the main part is now all done. Next job is to stitch the armhole lines, and then cut the steeks – I’m mainly going to use the chain stitch method shown in Sally Melville’s latest “Knit Experience” book … and then I can pick up for the sleeves. I now have some photos of the operation

Before cutting, the ‘hole’ at the top is the bottom of the armhole, and you can see the moss stitch steek area below it

Before cutting

Here’s an improved version of the cutting diagram:

Cutting diagram for steeks

And finally, some cut edges … (if you’re really scared, apparently you can use Fray check or similar – I didn’t bother, but that’s because the yarn’s ‘grippy’)

After cutting

Will I make it?! February 24, 2006

Posted by Daisy in In Progress.
5 comments

Psychedelic stripes is now sewn together (nearly). Just the neck to finish off, so I’m leaving that until Sunday:

Stripey jumper

The next jumper has a front and a back (thank goodness for the train to London yesterday, I got a whole front/back done on that journey!) but is still lacking sleeves.

So one sleeve tonight, one tomorrow and sewing up on Sunday?!