jump to navigation

The State of Play Today! February 13, 2006

Posted by knityoga in In Progress.
2 comments

After a very dodgy start, this was the state of play when I went to bed last night.

Shawl 1.jpg

Just over eight inches of the centre part of the shawl completed. Bear in mind that the Debbie Bliss Baby Cashmerino I’m using has a tension of 25sts/34 rows to 10cm on a 3.25mm needle which is what I’m using. This makes it equivalent to 4ply. Also, it’s a lacy pattern which makes it slower to work than stocking stitch, etc. This is the mantra I repeat to myself to keep me going because I hadn’t used up as much of the yarn as I should have done by this time. Having said that, I only did four rows on Friday night. Most of Saturday was spent on shopping and attending Maidstone Knitters where I did no Olympic Knitting whatsoever but stuck to a good old stocking stitch Noro sweater so that I could relax and chat without worrying about making mistakes.

Well, the pattern states work the shawl centre until it measures 17″ in length! That means that, at this stage, the centre section was almost half done though I still have the biggest part (the broad border and the edging that goes all the way around the centre) to do.  I’ve now been able to give up the stitchmarkers I resorted to because I’ve got used to the pattern which speeds things up no end.

UPDATE:  I picked it up again at 6pm this evening and so it’s a bit bigger now.  I’m beginning to think that I just may be in with a chance but don’t want to speak too soon!!!  I have to keep reminding myself that it doesn’t really matter if I don’t get it done – what’s important is that I try and that I enjoy it – and I am enjoying it!!  Hope the rest of you are, too.

Hazel (KnitYoga)

A Booo…..but it really a Yay, I *think* ;) February 13, 2006

Posted by babylonglegs in In Progress.
4 comments

Okay….so the yarn I chose to knit Shedir was the wrong choice…its slubby, variegated and tweedy….it just looks all wrong 😦 You can’t see the cables…and its also a hard wool to knit with…need bigger needles I think. Yeah, yeah I know…..excuses excuses!

But….I went for a wander around my village today, carrying my sleepy boy in my Ergo and *popped* (as you do) into the local charity shop…and found some Debbie Bliss Baby Cashmerino DK (colourway 207) !!!!! So I have decided to unravel/rip/frog the existing version and reknit it in the wonderfully soft bargain DB 🙂

Have cast it on and am now itching to restart…..

Go Team GB…..!!!! 

Love

Sarah xXx

www.babylonglegs.blogspot.com 

Hi team mates! February 13, 2006

Posted by gillie in In Progress.
3 comments

So glad to have found you all after asking around for quite a few days.  I was beginning to think that I was the one left in the changing rooms (quite understandable had you seen the pathetic knitting I’ve been doing!)  Even my dh has referred to me as the Eddie Eagle of the team 😉  I am in awe of the fantastic knitting taking shape here!

I’m knitting a pair of Mrs Beeton wristlets for a friend’s birthday on the 23 Feb.  Not much of a challenge, or so it would seem…but for the first time, I’m knitting in black.  Now I know why my Mum would never knit me a black sweater.  I’m fairly recent re-knitter and only just getting to grips with circular needles – or not, in the case of the black kidsilk haze.  With a busy couple of weeks coming up, I thought I’d better set myself a realistic target, but didn’t think I’d be throwing my knitting at it so frequently!

Progress reports have been posted to my blog http://elegantsufficiency.blogspot.com/ so far…but now I can post updates here.  Thanks Ann.

Go TeamGB!

Hello all! February 13, 2006

Posted by Rain in In Progress.
2 comments

I’m a bit late joining, but since I’m not the most tech savvy person out there it’s a miracle I made it at all.

I live up in the North West and have been knitting like a mad woman for the Olympics.

I’m designing my own cardigan, well… making it up as I go along would be a better description.

fit2.jpg

I reckon I’ve done about 15% so far, but have some difficult bits to come. I’ve got a fitted dress coat sort of thing in mind.

 http://www.froginknots.blogspot.com

False start but doing better now February 13, 2006

Posted by seahorse in In Progress.
2 comments

 

 On Saturday I decided that I didn’t like my original attempt (too green and too holey) so I ripped it out and started with different yarn and a different stitch. I’m using a sort of wrapping effect. I’m not sure how much like tree bark it looks (not much, mebbe) but it’s nice and firm and will hopefully look acceptable when finished.

Seahorse

 

Tree Trunk Day 4

And after the weekend… February 13, 2006

Posted by Daisy in In Progress.
2 comments

I seem to have got quite a lot done. And this jumper is turning out REALLY stripey! I’m also attempting to weave the ends in as I go because the thought of doing it at the end is dreadful.

However, I had quite a bit of time for knitting over the weekend, now I’m about to go away from home for work until Thursday. Not sure how much I’ll get done for the rest of this week, and that means we’ll be a week into the Olympics!!

Happy knitting to everyone else! 🙂