jump to navigation

25 per cent February 16, 2006

Posted by mlqknits in In Progress.
trackback

Olympic Coat

About 25% done – or to put it another way, I’d got through 2 balls when I took the photo yesterday, and since then I’ve used about another half ball or so.  Apologies for the colour, it’s not quite as red/orange as this – should be more red/blue – but didn’t get a chance to take the photo in daylight, and office strip lighting makes a hell of a difference to the colour balance.  I have made some small variations to the original idea, it’s now not all feather and fan (decided this would make my b** look far too big) which is now a border about 8 inches wide round the bottom and front edges, the other part follows the same lines as the feather and fan, but only knitting on the ‘decorative’ row (which has another small advantage – about 20% fewer stitches to 4 inches wide, after I’d done a spot of swatching …) 

Current length of work about 18 inches, so about the same to go to the bustline/armholes (I’m aiming for something empire line for the ‘skirt’ part), and we’re off to France tomorrow for a couple of days as a jolly birthday ‘outing’ for our son who is 17 tomorrow … the chaps want to go and see Honfleur (besieged by Henry V on his way to Agincourt), and I shall be looking for wool-shops … when I’m not alternating knitting frantically with being the navigator!

Have just spotted this on Vicki Knitorious’s blog – the Knitting Olympics has made it to Time magazine – like her, I’m not sure I like the sound of us being described as crafty couch potatoes!

Mary-Lou ( http://mlqknits.blogspot.com/ )

Comments»

1. knityoga - February 17, 2006

Looks like you’re making good progress. Crafty couch potatoes indeed!!! Someone ought to inform Time Magazine that knitting whilst watching TV uses up more calories than just watching TV. Keep up the good work but don’t forget to get in plenty of yarn ogling/drooling goodness whilst in France.

2. seahorse - February 17, 2006

Great progress! Hope you enjoy France!


Leave a comment